Volume 31



New council members chosen

New council members chosen
By Lindsay Wu ’20


The newly placed members of HW Give commitee poses for a picture. Credit: Jessa Glassman ’20 / Spectrum 

The new representatives of Character Committee, HW Give and STEAMbassadors have been announced.  Students applied in September for each program.
Character Committee welcomed Rachel Brown ’20, Michael Lehrhoff ’20, and Andrew So ’21 to the committee this year.  They will join returning members George Grube ’20 and Tyra Hirooka ’20 in their attempts to change the community into a more inclusive place.
“We’ll be working toward accomplishing several goals this year.  Currently, we’re working to bridge the gap between seventh, eighth and ninth graders, specifically on the buses.  We’re trying to eliminate the gap to make our community a more comfortable place for everyone,” Hirooka said.
HW Give is made up of six representatives, with five ninth graders and one eighth grader. This year’s representatives are Georgia Gerber ’20, Jessa Glassman ’20, Kyra Hudson ’20, Keila McCabe ’20, Emily Nutting ’20 and Andrew So ’21.  Glassman and McCabe are returning members.
“Unlike last year, HW Give is trying to focus on helping causes within the Los Angeles.  This will benefit the locals and make the community a better place,” Nutting said.
This year, George Grube ’20 is the only new STEAMbassador.  The program helps to excite students about the STEAM fields through events such as the annual Science fair.
“I’m really looking forward to being able to represent the STEAMbassador program because it is a topic that interests me so much, and I will be able to help others,” Grube said.

Leave a Comment
More to Discover
Donate to The SPECTRUM
Our Goal

Comments (0)

All comments will be approved by a student editor. Comments containing inappropriate language will not be approved.
All SPECTRUM Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *